How Does the CFL Playoffs Work?

The CFL playoffs consist of six teams, with the top two teams from each division earning a playoff berth. The Canadian football league (CFL) playoffs are an exciting culmination of the football season in Canada.

This post-season tournament determines the league champion and involves six teams from the CFL. Gridiron enthusiasts eagerly follow the playoffs as they showcase intense competition amongst the Canadian teams. The playoff structure is designed to reward the top-performing teams from each division, ensuring a fair chance for all to compete for the coveted grey cup championship.

In this article, we will outline how the CFL playoffs work, detailing the process of qualifying, the seeding system, and the exciting playoff matchups that lead to the ultimate showdown for the championship. Stay tuned to unravel the thrilling journey of the CFL playoffs and understand the excitement that awaits football fans across Canada.

Understanding The Format

The CFL playoffs follow a specific format to determine the ultimate champion of the league. The regular season precedes the playoffs, where teams compete in two divisions: east and west. Securing a playoff spot is of utmost importance for teams aiming to advance in the postseason.

The CFL playoffs structure is designed to provide exciting games and intense competition. Following this brief introduction, we will explore the details of the playoff system and uncover how teams navigate through the playoffs to reach the ultimate goal of becoming the CFL champions.

Stay tuned to discover the intricacies of the CFL playoffs and gain a better understanding of how the format works. Let’s dive into the exciting world of Canadian football and its captivating postseason journey!

The Road To The Grey Cup

The CFL playoffs offer an exhilarating journey to the grey cup, the ultimate championship game. The road starts with the division semi-finals, where teams fight for a spot in the division finals. These playoffs determine the best teams from the East and West Divisions.

The division finals are crucial, as they decide the division champions, who will face each other in the grey cup. This highly anticipated game showcases the top teams battling it out for the prestigious championship title. The grey cup is not only about the game but also about the festivities surrounding it.

The host city becomes the center of attention, offering exciting events and celebrations for fans to enjoy. It’s a thrilling time for football enthusiasts as they witness the culmination of a season’s hard work and dedication.

Tiebreakers And Seedings

The CFL playoffs work by using tiebreakers to determine the seedings. These tiebreakers are determined based on specific criteria. Playoff seedings are given to teams based on their performance throughout the regular season. The criteria include factors such as win-loss records, head-to-head matchups, and point differentials.

Teams that secure higher playoff seedings are awarded home-field advantage in the playoffs. This advantage allows them to play in front of their home crowd, giving them a boost in morale and support. It also provides them with the comfort of familiar surroundings.

The tiebreakers and seedings play a crucial role in ensuring fair competition and determining the path to the CFL championships. By analyzing these factors, teams can strategize and position themselves for success in the playoffs.


How Many Teams Make It To The CFL Playoffs?

In the CFL playoffs, six out of nine teams qualify to compete for the championship title.

What Is The Format Of The CFL Playoffs?

The CFL playoffs adopt a two-week format. This includes a divisional semifinal round, followed by the divisional final round, leading to the grey cup championship game.

How Are Teams Selected For The CFL Playoffs?

Teams qualifying for the CFL playoffs are determined based on their regular-season performance. The top three teams from each of the two divisions secure a spot in the playoffs.

What Is The ‘Crossover’ Rule?

The ‘crossover’ rule in the CFL playoffs allows a team from one division to take the playoff spot of the third-place team in the other division if they have a better-winning record.

How Are The Playoff Matchups Determined?

The CFL playoff matchups are determined by the seedings and standings of the qualifying teams. The top seed in each division faces the lowest seed, while the second and third seeds battle it out within their respective divisions.

How Is The Grey Cup Champion Determined?

The grey cup champion is determined by a single championship game known as the grey cup. The winners of the divisional finals from the east and west divisions clash in this prestigious match to determine the ultimate CFL champion.


Understanding how the CFL playoffs work is essential for any football fan. By following the league’s unique playoff format, fans can experience the excitement and drama that comes with determining the champion. The playoffs consist of a divisional structure, with the top teams from the east and west divisions competing for a spot in the grey cup game.

The crossover rule adds an intriguing twist, allowing the team with a better record from one division to compete in the other division’s playoffs. From the division semifinals to the division finals, each game is a do-or-die situation, where teams battle it out for a chance to advance.

The grey cup serves as the pinnacle of the CFL season, where the winners have crowned the champions of Canadian football. So, whether you’re a die-hard fan or just getting into the CFL, understanding the playoffs adds a deeper level of appreciation for the game.

Get ready for intense competition and exhilarating moments as teams strive for greatness in their quest for the grey cup.

Similar Posts