How Many CFL Teams are There?

There are a total of nine CFL teams. The Canadian football league consists of nine teams.

The Canadian football league (CFL), which is the highest level of professional Canadian football, currently has a total of nine teams. These teams compete in a thrilling and fast-paced game that combines elements of American football and Canadian rules. The CFL has a rich history and continues to captivate fans across Canada.

Each team represents a different city, creating a sense of local pride and intense rivalries. The league brings together athletes from across the country, showcasing their skills and athleticism on the field. Cfl games offer a unique and exciting sports experience for fans, with passionate supporters cheering on their favorite teams. So, whether you’re a die-hard football fan or simply looking for thrilling sports action, the CFL is definitely worth checking out.

Introduction To The CFL

The Canadian football league (CFL) has a long and fascinating history in Canada. Established in 1958, the CFL has been a significant part of the country’s sports culture for over six decades. From its humble beginnings to becoming one of the most popular leagues in Canada, the CFL has captured the hearts of football enthusiasts across the nation.

With its unique style of play and passionate fan base, the CFL has carved out its own niche in the Canadian sports landscape. Today, the league consists of nine teams, each representing different cities and regions in the country. From the Toronto Argonauts to the Calgary Stampeders, the CFL provides an exciting and competitive football experience for fans.

Key Facts About The CFL

The Canadian football league (CFL) consists of nine teams, which is fewer compared to the NFL. Understanding the key facts about the CFL can give you insight into its structure and organization. The CFL is unique, with its own set of rules that differ from American football.

These differences, such as the number of downs and field size, make the CFL a distinctive and exciting sport to watch. By exploring the CFL’s organization and understanding its unique rules, you can gain a greater appreciation for Canadian football.

Whether you’re a fan of the CFL or simply curious about the sport, learning these key facts will enhance your knowledge and enjoyment of Canadian football. So, let’s dive into the fascinating world of the CFL!

CFL Team Breakdown

The Canadian football league (CFL) consists of nine teams in total. In the eastern conference, there are four teams competing. The Toronto Argonauts, founded in 1873, have won a record 17 grey cups. The Hamilton Tiger-Cats, established in 1950, have a passionate fan base and have won multiple championships.

The Ottawa Redblacks, formed in 2014, have quickly made their mark, reaching three grey cup appearances. The Montreal Alouettes, first established in 1946, have a proud history with numerous grey cup victories. Moving to the western conference, there are five teams vying for glory.

The Calgary Stampeders, dating back to 1945, have a strong legacy and multiple grey cup wins. The Saskatchewan Roughriders, founded in 1910, boasts one of the largest fan bases in the CFL. The Edmonton Eskimos, established in 1949, has a storied history with numerous championships.

The bc lions, formed in 1954, have a dedicated following and have won numerous grey cups. Lastly, the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, founded in 1930, are one of the oldest teams in the league and have won several championships. Each team in the CFL has its own notable players and achievements, contributing to the league’s rich history.

Expansion And Contraction Of CFL Teams

The CFL has seen its fair share of expansion and contraction over the years. The number of teams has fluctuated throughout the league’s history. Reasons for team expansion include growing interest in football and the desire to reach new markets.

Conversely, team contraction may occur due to financial difficulties or a lack of fan support. These changes have a significant impact on the league and its fans. When a new team is added, it brings excitement and new rivalries. On the other hand, losing a team can be a blow to the league’s reputation and leave fans disappointed.

The CFL’s ability to adapt and navigate these changes is crucial for its success and long-term viability.

Future Prospects For CFL Expansion

When it comes to CFL expansion, the future prospects look promising. Potential new markets hold both challenges and opportunities for the league. Speculations on potential teams and their impact highlight the excitement surrounding the expansion. The CFL aims to increase its presence and fan base by exploring new regions.

Emerging cities and untapped markets provide a fresh canvas for the league to showcase its talent and attract new audiences. By strategically expanding into these markets, the CFL can foster growth and strengthen its position in the sports industry. With careful planning and execution, the addition of new teams will contribute to the overall development and success of the league.

Frequently Asked Questions:

How Many Teams Are There In The CFL?

There are currently 9 teams in the Canadian football league (CFL). Each team represents a different city or region in Canada.

Which Canadian City Has The Most CFL Teams?

The city with the most CFL teams is Toronto, with two teams: the Toronto Argonauts and the newly established Toronto Atlantic Schooners.

Are There Any CFL Teams Outside Of Canada?

No, all 9 teams in the CFL are located in Canada. However, there have been discussions in the past about potential expansion into the united states.

How Many Players Are On Each CFL Team?

Each CFL team has a roster of 46 active players. This includes players from various positions such as offense, defense, and special teams.

How Many Games Does Each CFL Team Play In A Season?

Each CFL team plays a regular season consisting of 18 games. This is followed by playoffs, with the ultimate goal of winning the grey cup, the CFL’s championship game.

Can You Name All The CFL Teams?

Certainly! The 9 CFL teams are the bc lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Elks, Saskatchewan Roughriders, Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Toronto Argonauts, Ottawa Redblacks, and Montreal Alouettes.


To sum up, the CFL is a thriving Canadian sports league with a rich history and a dedicated fan base. As of now, there are nine teams that compete in the CFL, showcasing their skills and passion for the sport.

These teams are the bc lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Elks, saskatchewan roughriders, Winnipeg blue bombers, Hamilton tiger-cats, Toronto Argonauts, Ottawa Redblacks, and Montreal Alouettes. Each team brings its own unique flair to the league, creating a dynamic and exciting atmosphere for fans across the country.

Whether you are a long-time supporter or new to the CFL, there is no denying the thrill of watching these teams battle it out on the field. So, the next time you find yourself wondering about the number of CFL teams, remember that there are currently nine teams competing for the coveted grey cup, each striving to be crowned champions.

Get ready for an exhilarating CFL experience!

Similar Posts